Shanghai Cooperation Organisation (SCO) includes India’s Statue of Unity in its 8th Wonders list

Statue of Unity, Gujarat, SCO, SCO's 8 Wonder list, Shanghai Cooperation Organization’s ‘8 Wonders of SCO' list

External Affairs Minister, S Jaishankar recently announced that the 182-metre tall statue of India's first home minister, Sardar Patel in Gujarat also known as the Statue of Unity has been included in the Shanghai Cooperation Organization’s ‘8 Wonders of SCO' list. 

Foreign Minister, S Jaishankar took to twitter to make an official announcement on the development. In his tweets S Jaishankar said, “Appreciated the #SCO’s efforts to promote tourism among member states. The “8 Wonders of SCO”, which includes the #StatueofUnity , will surely serve as an inspiration.”
Recently, S Jaishankar conducted a meeting with Secretary General of SCO, Vladimir Norov in order to review the progress in co-operation between member states of SCO as India prepares to take up the responsibility of chairing the council of SCO heads of government. The Shanghai Cooperation Organisation (SCO) is an international alliance of eight member states from Eurasia. The eight-member states of the SCO are India, Pakistan, China, Kazakhstan, Kyrgyzstan, Russia, Tajikistan, and Uzbekistan.

Gujarat's Statue of Unity is the most sought after tourist destination in the country. Around 1.77 lakh tourists visited Statue of Unity between December 25th and 31st. As per reports, the government earned revenue of INR 3.78 crore in six days span.

Most Popular


From the edition

From the magazine